Philippians: To Live is Christ (But To Die Would Be Better?)

What’s your favorite book of the Bible? You have 66 to choose from and I’d understand if your said Romans, Psalms, Genesis, one of the Gospels, or Galatians. I’d be worried if you picked Numbers. That’d be weird.

For me it’s easy…Philippians. We did a 12 week study of Philippians a while back in a Bible study and it lit a fire under me.  It convicted me and challenged my faith, taking it to a whole new level. (After all, level two is higher than level one).  It was just verse after verse of Paul encouraging the Christians in Philippi and modeling what it means to treasure Christ above all else…even his own life.  I think it especially hit home living in America, the land of plenty, with so many things clamoring for my attention, all fighting for a spot on the throne of my heart.

It’s been a while so I thought it’d be cool to read through it again, blogging what God brings to mind as I go.  I’ll sprinkle in posts about other subjects, but I’ve never seen anyone blog through a book of the Bible before. This should be fun! (Side note: after I had written this I stumbled across three of four blogs whose authors were blogging their way through the entire Bible.  I’m such an amateur!)

This post will serve as a table of contents for the whole series so you’ll be able to link to each post from here, as well as see what upcoming posts will cover (as much as I know them in advance). I hope you enjoy it!  Remember to subscribe via email or RSS over on the right sidebar if you want to be notified when a new entry is posted.

What is your favorite book of the Bible and why?  Let me know in the comments.

6 responses to “Philippians: To Live is Christ (But To Die Would Be Better?)

  1. Pingback: To Your Love, Add Knowledge and Discernment (Philippians 1:9-11) | all things loss

  2. Pingback: This Is Why You Shouldn’t Skim Past The Greetings in Paul’s New Testament Letters | all things loss

  3. Pingback: The Partnership Principle: 5 Reasons You Should Partner With Your Church | all things loss

  4. Pingback: Paul, A Servant Of Christ…(Philippians 1:1) | all things loss

  5. ooooh, I am super excited for this blog series! My favorite book of the Bible is, probably b/c it’s the only one I’ve studied, is Ephesians. Specifically, Ephesians 6:10-18. Spiritual warfare and persecution are present in every Christians everyday life. These verses are HUGE! First,you need the belt of truth around your waist. Jesus is the truth, the foundation for our spiritual war. Next is the breastplate of righteousness. Jesus is also the breastplate of righteousness. The battle is not about us, but about Jesus. We won’t survive without Him! I’m not sure about the shoes of readiness and peace…but I’m assuming also Jesus. The shield of faith is Jesus! Our faith and focus needs to be on Him. We need to trust Him, and only Him in battle. Next is the helmet of salvation. The word salvation can mean total deliverance. Jesus delivers us from every situation! Lastly is the sword of the spirit, the Holy Spirit, the Word of God. Without the Word of God, without the sword, we can only survive so long in battle.

your thoughts??

